Hallelu Yah–God Gets the Last Laugh

     I was reading Psalm 150 the other day in the New International Version, and I noticed a footnote at the end of verse 1.  The verse said, “Praise the LORD.”  So I checked it at the bottom of the page, and the footnote read, “Hebrew Hallelu Yah.” 

     So I looked up Hallelu and it does mean “praise.”  I looked up “Yah” in Wikipedia and it said this: “The name Yah is composed of the first two letters of YHWH.  It appears often in names, such as Elijah…as well as the expression Hallelujah.”  So Yah is God’s name and was translated “the LORD.” 

    I looked up “YHWH” in Wikipedia and it referred me to “Tetragrammaton”:  “The name of the God of Israel, written with four letters…appears over 6,800 times” in the Bible.

     Halleluyah.  How many times have I heard that word in my life?  I immediately thought of an old hymn.  “Hallelujah, Thine the glory.  Hallelujah, Amen.  Hallelujah, Thine the glory, “Revive Us Again.”  And it appears not just in hymns–in popular music, Ray Charles singing “Hallelujah, I Just Love Her So.”  The “Glory, glory, Hallelujah” of “The Battle Hymn of the Republic.”  And Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah.”  And the “Hallelujah Chorus” of Mendel’s Messiah. 

     And the movies, books, sayings, quotations.  And then I realized that the word “Halleluyah” permeates the very fabric of Western Civilization and American society, for we all have heard and said this word hundreds of times in our lives.

     And then I thought of God, sitting on His throne, looking down on us and smiling.  For He has the last laugh.  The “wise” men of this modern age have worked diligently to eradicate both God and His name out of the minds of the people.  And despite their efforts, the people still are praising His name in His original language Hebrew, when they say, “HalleluYah.”  Even the atheists praise His name when they say, “HalleluYah.”  He’s got to be laughing right now.            Kenneth Wayne Hancock

{For those desiring to read more on this topic, click on the “Yahweh is the Savior” link to your right under “Blogroll.”  There you’ll find my book, Yah Is Savior: The Road to Immortality…Make a comment; I’d love to hear from you}

 

    

6 Comments

Filed under Sacred Names, Yahweh

6 responses to “Hallelu Yah–God Gets the Last Laugh

  1. dangilomartin

    Wow that is intresting. Thank you brother. This is like a little answer to my prayer. I was always wondering where halleluyah came from. I used to have my own theory of the word halleluyah. I used to believe that some tongues speaking pentacostal was making up words one day and stumbled upon it. Like the way it sound and others as well and it just spread . But I guess I like the truth much better then the lie. Plus it is so cool to finally know the true history of the word hallelujah. I am going to subscribe to you blog. Keep up the good work and stay in the faith. God bless you brother in Jesus name amen.

  2. Sara

    How do I subscribe to your blog? Is there a way to have an email sent to the subscribers when you have a new post?

  3. Could it be anti-Semitism that led to the omission of the name of God? Could it be that omitting the name of God then leads to what is called new Age thinking, in that God is spread thin and called “the Universe” or “universal” and in other amorphous, more general ways? Not having a name can lead to not having an identity. Is that what omitting YHWH has done?
    Just think about it.

  4. wayneman5

    Thank you, Cheryl, for your thoughts. I agree that “losing” God’s name Yahweh has led to all kinds of false teachings, both in the denominations and in New Age, among others. Of course, New Age thinking is one of the very old false teachings that came right out of Mystery Babylon thousands of years ago, perpetrated by those who were led by Satan, much as they are today. God has long ceased to be a personal God to most. People are in awe of everything but God, which gives rise to many gods…You are right. They hid God’s name and in so doing lost His identity. Thank you for your insight and seeking heart. Check out my book “Yah Is Savior: The Road to Immortality” here: http://www.yahwehisthesavior.com/yah.htm especially, ch. 4-10. God bless you. Wayneman

  5. Lou

    I couldn’t agree more. Man is so ignorant, but more importantly YAH is so great!

    HalleluYAH!

  6. wayneman5

    Thank you, Lou, for the comment. Glad it struck a chord. Hope you visit again soon. Wayneman

Leave a Reply

