Dear Prodigal Son (with Problems with Sexual Lust)

Dear prodigal son,

This is in answer to the problems you are facing in finding the line between being fleshly minded and spiritually minded in your life.  You mentioned that you had problems with urges of a sexual nature and couldn’t see that one could really be totally successful in combating those urges.

You wanted some help concerning this.  I did too many years ago, when a wise man shared with me this truth.  In fact, this truth was life-changing, initiating a personal transformation of a miraculous nature.

He told me that my old self, the old nature that I was born with–it had to die.  “Wayne, you’ve got to voluntarily surrender it and place that old selfish heart on the cross and let it die there with Christ.  When He, the sin sacrifice  died, your old self died; when He was buried, your old nature was buried; when He was raised from the dead, you were raised from the dead, too.”

Although I wanted to get power over the flesh and the sin driving my actions, this truth hit me hard.  I knew that it was game, set, match.  It was over.  God won.  There was no excuse for me to continue the selfish sinful way I was living.  “How do you do it?” I asked him.

“It all boils down to belief in the resurrection.  Not that just Christ was raised from the dead.  Many believe that fact of history.  No, you are the one that needs to be raised from the dead along with Christ.  You must believe that Christ is raised in you, in your body!  By faith in the operation of God who raised Christ from the dead, you, too, can walk in a newness of life {Col. 2:11}.”

It was not the easiest thing to do, but I had a great support system to help the new “babe in Christ”–me.  It was a life-changer, and I’ve walked on from there those many years ago.”

I hope this helps.  This is what you need–to get it settled, where you can confess, “I am dead, and my life is hid with Christ in God.”

I’ve written more about this on my blog, “Immortality Road.”  Check it out at https://ImmortalityRoad.wordpress.com or check out my books at http://yahwehisthesavior.com/ God bless you in your search,                                               Kenneth Wayne Hancock

Leave a comment

Filed under cross, crucified with Christ, death of self, resurrection, sin

Leave a Reply

