Conversations With the Seer–Who Will Do the “Greater Works”?

(Formerly in Israel, if a man went to inquire of God, he would say, “Come, let us go to the Seer,” because the prophet of today used to be called a Seer. I Samuel 9: 9)

“Christ did say, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also,” I said to the Seer.  We were talking about how followers of Christ today could grow to a point in which they could do the same miracles of healing and raising of the dead that the Savior and His apostles did (1).

“That promise is true,” the Seer said, “but what does it mean, to believe on Him?  Even the devils believe in one God and tremble.  Many believe that He existed, that He was a prophet, that He was a wise teacher.  Although important, it is not enough that we believe that Christ existed, that He died, was buried, and rose again the third day.  Christ gives us His followers a commandment: ‘Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me.’  Those who go and learn what that means–they are the ones that will do the greater works.”

“How could we do anything greater than healing the sick and raising the dead?” I asked, thinking that would be difficult to top.

“He is bringing many sons unto glory.  Multiply these works by thousands of us doing them—those are the ‘greater works.’”

“Never saw it like that before.  So what does ‘believe on Him’ mean then?”

“Christ was saying this: The Father that dwells in me speaks the words through me and does the works.  The Father is a Spirit; He is everywhere.  The Son is a vessel that walks in this knowledge and also contains the Father/Spirit.   We who have received His Spirit in our new hearts, we, also, are in the Father, and the Father now is in us.

“Christ commands us: ‘Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father is in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake.”  This is a commandment.  In fact, this is one of his new commandments that His apostle John tells us about.  He is saying, The things I do only God can do, so believe what I am saying to you about the Father being present right now in Me.  These miracles done through me—it is the Father in me that is doing them.”

“He did say, I and my Father are one.”

“Precisely.  Those that obey this new commandment and believe that it was very Yahweh, the great Creator, walking, teaching, healing, through the Anointed One Christ—they will do the same works that He did.”

“Just accepting Him as their personal Savior is not going to do it,” I said.

“No, it won’t.  We do the receiving of Him; He does the accepting of us.  Big difference.”

“The Great Creator Spirit poured Himself into the man called the Christ,” I said.

“Believe that and you will be given the Spirit as well.  Speaking of all of His followers down through the ages, He prayed, ‘That they may be one, as we are.’  And His prayers will be answered.”     KWH

(1) John 14: 9-20; 17: 11.

1 Comment

Filed under belief, elect, faith, princes and princesses of God

One response to “Conversations With the Seer–Who Will Do the “Greater Works”?

  1. I was privileged to have sat at the feet of a seer. It was back in 1971, when I left the hustle and bustle of the world and literally escaped its madness and cruelty for a few years. We owed no man anything but to love them. We worked with our hands together as a body in our own construction company. We studied around the old wood burning stove, hot cups of tea washing down a feeling that we were doing the right thing at the right time. And we stayed in the Word every day. It was paramount in our lives–learning of the eternal purpose of God in Christ. And that has been the anchor of my soul all these long years since. It was those early years with the seer that made the difference.

Leave a Reply

