Praise God by His Name YAH

The translators of the King James Bible substituted the title “the LORD” (in capital letters) for the Hebrew name of God–YHWH, pronounced Yahweh by most scholars.  Over 6,700 times did they do this–except for one instance. 

The verse is found in Psalm 68: 4. “Sing unto God, sing praises to His name: extol Him who rides upon the heavens by his name YAH, and rejoice before him.”  

The prophet King David of Israel, inspired by the Holy Spirit, tells us in this verse to “sing praises to His name.”  And then he tells us how to do this properly.  He gives us the exact name of God right after the commandment.  We are to extol and praise Him “by His name YAH.” 

We are to address God and use His true Hebrew name YAH or YAHWEH in our praise of Him.  In fact, the Spirit of God Himself speaking through David gives us a command.  “Sing praises to His name…extol Him by His name YAH.”  It could not be plainer in English.

But very few people know about this.  And many who hear this for the first time immediately have doubts.  They will say, “The LORD just wants us to praise Him.  He doesn’t mind us saying ‘the LORD.'”  And yet this scripture is perfectly clear.”

Why won’t people receive this?  Christ asked the question this way. “Why do you also transgress the commandment of God by your tradition?”  We are commanded to “praise Him by His name YAH.”  He went on to say, “You have made the commandment of God of none effect by your tradition.”  And, “In vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men”  (Matthew 15: 3-9). 

 We all learned to say, “Praise the LORD” instead of “Praise YAH” because of traditions handed down to us.  And the sad irony here is that we all have literally praised YAH in Hebrew when we said, “HalleluYah.”  This Hebrew word means–you guessed it–Praise YAH!

It takes a real hunger and thirst for God to be able to be open hearted enough to say, “I was in error.  This is true and I am receiving it and walking in it no matter what the world may think or say.”  KWH

26 Comments

Filed under King David, prayer, Yahweh

26 responses to “Praise God by His Name YAH

  1. Daughter of Yah

    Thank you for sharing this… literally this afternoon I had sent out an email out to friends about “Yah” and what I had learned using Stong’s Hebrew concordance.

    I would like to state that I am in no way part of the “sacred name movement” nor do I believe we are saved by an outward name, rather by knowing the one the name belongs to – and he truly does know our hearts.
    Having said that, I like to use the name he instructed over and over for me to call upon, declare, praise, and proclaim.

    I had always assumed that whenever one sees “the LORD” that it replaced YHWH (sounding like either Yahuah or Yahueh) …. but there are 49 times where “the LORD” was used to replace “Yah” and here are a few examples (here I included the actual words used for “God” and “salvation” as listed in Strong’s)

    “Yah is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation/yeshuah: he is my El, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s Elohim, and I will exalt him.” Exodus 15:2

    “Sing unto Elohim, sing praises to his name: extol him that rideth upon the heavens by his name Yah, and rejoice before him.” Psalm 68:4

    “Thou hast ascended on high, thou hast led captivity captive: thou has received gifts for men; yea, for the rebellious also, that Yah Elohim might dwell among them.” Psalm 68:18

    “I will remember the works of Yah: surely I will remember the wonders of old.” Psalm 77:11

    “Yet they say, ‘Yah shall not see, neither sall the Elohim of Jacob regard.'” Psalm 94:7

    “But we will bless Yah from this time forth and for evermore.” Psalm 115:18

    “I called upon Yah in distress: Yah answered me, and set me in a large place.” Psalm 118:5

    “Yah is my strength and song. and is become my yeshuah.” Psalm 118:14

    “I shall not die, but live, and decalare the works of Yah.” Psalm 118:17

    “Whither the tribes go up, the tribes of Yah, unto the testimony of Israel, to give thanks/yadah unto the name of Yahuah.” Psalm 122:4

    “If thou, Yah, should mark iniquities, O adonai, who shall stand?” Psalm 130:3

    “For Yah hath chosen Jacob unto himself, Israel for his peculiar treasure.” Psalm 135:4

    “Praise/Halal Yah. Praise/Halal Yahuah, O my soul.” Psalm 146:1

    “Behold, El is my salvation/yeshuah; I will trust, and not be afraid: for Yah Yahuah is my strength and song; he also is become my yeshuah.” Isaiah 12:2

    “Trust ye in Yahuah for ever: for in Yah Yahuah is everlasting strength.” Isaiah 26:4

    Thanks again for your post. It’s always a blessing when I have a chance to stop by!

    • Thank you so much, Daughter of Yah, for sharing these scriptures. A very good reference tool for those who care to dive into this most important subject. Praise Him by His name Yah. Thank you, Yah. Thanks for stopping by. May He bless you richly. Wayneman

  2. daughter of Yah

    Kenneth,
    I just looked this up again online in the lexicon, and wanted to share this list for Strong’s #H3068 (YHWH) and #3050 (Yah) respectively.

    Praise Him!!

    Below are the chapters, as well as the number of times God’s only name of which he said, “this is my name forever, and my memorial unto all generations” and “I am YHWH; that is my name and my glory will I not give to another”
    been replaced with a title “the LORD” in each chapter:

    Ch. number of times
    ————————————-
    Genesis (141)
    Exodus (341)
    Leviticus (281)
    Numbers (350)
    Deut. (438)
    Joshua (169)
    Judges (137)
    Ruth (15)
    1 Samuel (240)
    2 Samuel (125)
    1 Kings (211)
    2 Kings (227)
    1 Chron (144)
    2 Chron (307)
    Ezra (28)
    Nehemiah (15)
    Job (23)
    Psalms (624)
    Proverbs (87)
    Isaiah (373)
    Jeremiah (612)
    Lament. (32)
    Ezekiel (200)
    Daniel (6)
    Hoshea (39)
    Joel (26)
    Amos (56)
    Obadiah (6)
    Hab (10)
    Zephaniah (27)
    Haggai (24)
    Zechariah (102)
    Malachi (39)

    Below are the chapters, and the number of times the short form of his name “Yah” has been replaced with “the LORD”:

    Exodus (2)
    Psalms (40)
    Isaiah (3)

    The truth is out there for any willing to search.
    The “ineffable name” doctrine is pagan and was picked up during the Babylonian captivity.

    Yahushua (Jesus) revealed the Father’s name to his disciples, and I think you point all this out in your books.

    It’s also right in the word and Stephen was even stoned for speaking God’s name.

    Yah tells us to call upon His name to be saved… when we call upon Yahushua/Yahshua we are calling upon both the Father’s name and his salvation/ yeshuah/shua.

    *Again, I do not subscribe to the sacred name movement, or that you have to use the Hebrew names…. it’s just that in honor of the One who loved me and washed me in his own blood…
    I’ve truly felt convicted about using his actual name that the angel instructed him to be named, as it is the least I can do.

    Another thing that caught me attention is this (although, yes, we are most certainly covered by his grace)

    “Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.” Acts 4:12

    well, just for starters, the letter and sound “J” was invented a few centuries ago and did not exist then. Also, greek did not have a way to convey the “sh” sound in Yahshua.

    Interestingly, the “no other name given..” comes only 2 chapters after Peter quotes Joel 2:32

    “And it shall come to pass that all who call upon the name of Yahuah shall be saved”

    As you know we spell the name various ways trying to spell it how it sounds, but the “Yah” is the main thing and is used interchangeably in scripture.

    Please forgive the lengthy posts. I thank Him that he had us both sharing the exact message today without even knowing it.
    HalleluYah.

  3. A few weeks ago Yah really began to show me 2 things, that He is One and the meaning of His name.

    There will be a time when the whole earth knows His true name. I would just like to share 2 things, 1 I stuumbled upon and the other which was directly revealed to me.
    1. In the Shema the translation read The Lord is

    the actual Hebrew read the following:

    ‘YHVH our God YHVH one’ with further study you find that Yod for Y is the shorthand form of His name “Yah” rendered “iah” after some names in the bible. This leaves the HVH, which stands for HOVEH which is the present tens of the verb to be.

    So the English translation should be Yah IS our God, Yah IS one. Unfortunately it has ben transliterated to read Yah IS is our God, Yah Is is one, which does not make sense!

    Secondly, have you ever though what the phrase that Jesus Christ is Lord means? This is divine revelation as it means: “that Yahushua (Yah is Salvation) is Yahoveh (Yah IS).

    May Yah bless and keep you. Amen.

    • Thank you, seeker, for sharing these things about His name. Hallelu Yah! Praise Yah! Every body has praised Him by His real name and did not even know it!

  4. Ben_Elohim_Yah

    It is great to see others spreading the Word of Yah!!! Let those who have Wisdom and Understanding know that Yah spread out to more than just the Jews but was known mainly for them for they were his True people. The American Indian Also Have a Name for our Eloah, (Y)e(H)eha(W)a(H)eha (YHWH), and Yah warned us Not to Ignorantly Worship Him! Use His Name when praying! It was man who decided His Name was to Holy to say; Not the workings of Yah! Know your Elohim, Trust in Him, Don’t loose faith!!! Hallelu-Yah May Your Name be shouted from the Earth and the Heavens for all time. Hallelu-YHWH

  5. Thank you for sharing so many references of God’s holy name. Here’s a good lexicon that has all the scriptures that use the name YAH. You can read them one-by-one .

    Also, YAH is also found in the New Testament. In Revelation 19:1, 3, 4 and 6, multitudes are praising God around the throne by saying, “Alleluiah!” This is a Greek transliteration of the Hebrew phrase “Hallu YAH.” When English translators translated these Greek scriptures, they retained the transliteration most like the Greek spelling. But, it’s a fairly well known fact that this phrase is the common praise used by David, “Hallu YAH!”

    For instance, in Psalm 150, the phrase “Hallu YAH” is used in the first and last verses. We don’t see it in English because the English translators chose to interpret it as “Praise ye the LORD.” Here is an excellent resource where you may read the Hebrew and English side-by-side: .

    Here are some more places where David used the phrase, Hallu YAH: Psalm 106:1, 48; Psalm 111:1, 112:1 and 113:1, 9; Psalm 115:18 ; Psalm 116:19; Psalm 117:2 ; Psalm 135:1, 3, 21 ; Psalm 146:1, 10; Psalm 147:1, 20; Psalm 148:1, 14; Psalm 149:1, 9; Psalm 150:1, 6. Moses and Isaiah also both used the name YAH.

    About Acts 4:12, we must read it carefully to glean all God has for us in this quote from Peter. The small but important preposition “under” is key in this verse. Peter said, “Neither is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name UNDER heaven given among men whereby we must be saved. Christ is “under” the authority of heaven. That’s why he told us to pray, “Our Father, Who is in heaven….” We also know that He is under the authority of heaven by these two important scriptures written by Apostle Paul: “For HE has put all things under His feet. But when HE says all things are put under Him, it is manifest that HE is excepted, which did put all things under Him. And when all things shall be subdued unto Him, then shall the Son also Himself be subject unto HIM that put all things under Him, that God may be all in all” (1 Corinthians 15:27, 28).

    I’d like to invite all of you to my facebook page, “Put YHWH Back in Scripture.” Please feel free to share your insights. Maybe we can join forces to see YHWH put back in scripture where HE belongs! Here is the link: .

    • Hey, Julie. Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments. I did go to your facebook page and enjoyed it. Keep up the good work! May His name be magnified. kwh

  6. charles ANTHONY stigler aka Uwriyel Anah Yisrael

    Toe dah ra bah my friend! That means thank you very much in hebrew, simply put. I have known this for like almost 5 yrs now. I have been trying with in that time, in the beginning of my enlightenment to share this with everyone I.can this same understanding that YAH have opened you & I eyes too. This that you have posted here are words from the Most High Yehovahyahweh/ YAH TO WHOM I PRAISE & GIVE THANKS TOO. I will post this (so on my facebook Please contact me !7738797972

    • Hey, Charles. Thanks for your comment. God’s name Yahweh and Yahshua is extremely important. Read more in my book Yah Is Savior: The Road to Immortality found here: YahwehIsTheSavior.com May He continue to bless you with His presence.

  7. Kevin

    There is enough evidence out there that proves Jesus Christ never existed Yah’s Son’s name is and always has been Yahushua
    Christianity is a false religion all you have to do is find its roots.
    All Christianity has its roots in the Roman Catholic Church you are a branch of this.
    They have murdered people from day one
    Look at your roots today they hide child sex offenders and the people of Christianity still follow this false cult.
    As Yah’s word says … You will know them by their fruit.
    Their fruit is what they say and what they do.
    Yah puts the evidence right in your face but you do not see it

    Why because you are a blind guide leading the blind to hell.
    Therefore repent before it is too late for you.

    • Kevin. I agree that Catholicism and most every protestant denomination is not the true church. And I agree about the true God Yahweh and His Son Yahshua. But you have obviously never read the more than 300 articles and two books that I have written on this website. They would have proven to you most emphatically that I am not a Catholic. All Christianity comes from Catholicism? Totally erroneous, Kevin. Any Encyclopedia will tell you that the Catholic church arose around 300 A.D. I quote writers, prophets, and apostles who believed in Yahshua 200-300 years before Roman Catholicism. They are in your Bible. Kevin, you cannot be serious in accusing me of being a branch of the Roman Catholic church. Study, Kevin, to show yourself approved unto God. Then start making comments.

  8. Ellen

    Brother Wayneman,
    Finding your post and http://www.eliyah.com has been a moment for me! I have been enjoying Yah! for a couple years now by name. AND YES! it seems to matter in my spirit (ruach some would say… ruach ha-kodesh). This Yah! became flesh and tabernacled among the disciples and they beheld HIM! (Gospel of John 1:14) Then this tabernacling, made of flesh, last Adam, Yah! became a life-giving spirit (I Corinthians 15:45…) so He could be poured out on all flesh. That as many as received Him could be called Sons of God!
    Thank you Yah! for the internet. There are others that are enjoying You!

    • Ellen, thank you for your comment concerning Yah becoming flesh and dwelling among us in the form of the Son of God. This is the key revelation, and then the outpouring of His Spirit upon His followers–us! The other comment and quotes from the Talmud doth give me pause. The Rabbinic writers throughout the centuries did not believe the above. To the contrary, they rejected our Savior outright. I cannot put my trust in their thoughts and ideas concerning Yah, for that reason. But I am in the process of reading their words, for He told us to “prove all things.” Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Read, enjoy, comment, please. Kenneth Wayne Hancock

  9. Johnd14

    Outstanding post, you have pointed out some fantastic points, I as well think this is a very great website. bbbeegcbgcff

  10. I agree 100% about YAH being his true name, not only to Israel but the whole world. YAH we know for sure make no mistake.

  11. onkabetse kok

    Yahvah is the only mighty one to be praised,worshioed,and deserve thanks giving

  12. YAHCOBB YAHUDAH

    YAH is everything and in everything! YAH is the energy and understanding vibration that holds everything together! I will sing my respect and acknowledgement /praise unto YAH the Creator of the Omniverse of everything. I trust YAH my Yahoshwa 100% and I wait for Yah to restore YAH’s people and fufill YAH’s promises for YAH’S great name sake! Halal Yah all respect and strength is from and unto YAH!………….. I have come to a understanding I try not to acknowledge YAH by titles of men are women such as him,he,her,she,man,woman,male,female for Yah is not a mortal flesh creation. Whenever I see him are he,etc I just replace/re-edit this violation of Exo 20:7
    You shalt not take the name of the YAH thy Creator in vain; for the YAH will not hold him/her guiltless that taketh YAH’s name in vain. I put back YAH that was taken away to mis-lead people into Idolatry by calling upon another name besides The Great AhiYah HaYah YAH !

  13. Do you no the name off God

Leave a Reply

