“Greater Works” Comes by Believing Yahweh Dwelt Bodily in Christ

The time was growing short.  The Savior knew that He had but a short time to be with the disciples that He had chosen to reveal Himself to.  He began to comfort them with words that would reassure them that His imminent death was not the end.

He told them to not be troubled.  Just believe in God and in Me, He was saying.  Trust Me.  It is going to get rough, but stay in the ship.  After the crucifixion, I will rise again after three days and three nights.  I’m going to prepare a place for you, and I will come back for you so that you can be where I am.  Anyway, you already know the way to that place where I’m going.

Then Thomas spoke up and said, “We don’t even know where you are going, much less the way to get there.”  Thomas was evidently thinking of a literal geographical location.

“Thomas, I am the way to get there.  I am the truth, and I am the life.  I am not only the way to get there, but I am the destination, as well.  If you realized just who and what I am, then you would know who the Father is and where He is.”

“We will be satisfied if you just show us the Father.”

“After all you have witnessed me do, don’t you realize that the Father is the only one who has done these miracles through these hands?  Look at me.  Look past the flesh, and when you see the invisible Me inside, that spiritual force that lives in my body–when you have really seen Me, you have seen the Father.  For the Father is living inside of Me, and it is He who is doing all the mighty works that you see me do” (John 14: 1-10).

He was reaffirming that the Father is Spirit, or how else can the Father be dwelling in the Son?  You cannot stuff the body of the Father into the body of the Son.  The Father, then, has to be a Spirit who dwells in His Son, which is the Spirit in a human form.

Christ’s New Commandment

Then He gives us a command in v. 11.  “Believe Me.”  Believe what?  “Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me.”  Believe the truth of my words that the Life is living in me, and that I am the way for you to get this Life, who is the Father.

Then He makes a promise in v. 12.  “Whoever believes me when I say that the Father is in me–that person will do what I have been doing.  He that believes on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do because I am going to my Father.”  He who believes the Savior’s words that it was Yahweh Himself, the great Eternal Spirit Creator, who was dwelling in Him–that believer will do the same things that the Savior did!  What an astounding promise!

This promise has to be to those people who know and the believe the truth about the Father being an ivisible Spirit residing in His body–us.   “And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, I will do it that glory will come to the Father (v. 13).

What Are We to Ask?

Two questions arise that need clarification.   What exactly are we to ask?  And what does it mean to ask it in His name?  What are we to ask?  We are to ask Him to do the same things through us that He did in human form!  We are to ask for the greater works to be done by His Spirit in us–that the Father may be glorified.

The believers in Yahweh-is-the-Savior [“I, even I am the LORD (Yahweh in the original Hebrew); and beside Me there is no savior.”]–believers will do greater works than what He did 2,000 years ago in His incarnation as the Son of God.  The Father, who is that great invisible Spirit, who dwelt in the Son and did the works, the miracles, the wonderful gifts to men of healing and deliverance from demons, wants to do the same works–only on a much greater scale through a body of many sons.  And so we will do the same works by the Father, the Spirit, dwelling within us.  It is not by our might, nor by our strength, by “by my Spirit saith Yahweh” that the works will be done.

The Main Pre-requisite

So it boils down to receiving more of the Spirit, more of the Father within us.  And the main pre-requisite in receiving the Spirit is obeying the Son of God, for He gives the Spirit to those who obey Him (Acts 5: 32).  He continues speaking in v. 15, “If you love Me, you will keep my commandments.”

What had He just commanded the disciples?  He had just told them to believe Him when He said that the Father is in Him.  “Believe also in Me,” He said.  He told them to believe Him and His word as to just Who was in Him.  “Believe Me!”  That was the commandment. 

He was telling them: You believe in God and you know that He is the Father/Spirit.  This is good.  Now believe that the Father is in Me!  Believe Me!  For it is the Father speaking to you right now through my very lips! 

This is the commandment that He wanted us to obey–believe that it was Yahweh clothed behind His special veil of flesh.

After Believing This, What Comes Next?

Immediately after this order to believe that the Father is in him, He says that He will arrange for the Holy Spirit to come down to us, to “be with us forever.”  Forever.  This signifies that once a person really receives the Spirit of truth, who is the Comforter, that He will never depart from us.  He will abide with us forever!

Bottom line: We must believe that “God was manifested in the flesh”–that Immanuel was God with us, walking on this planet in a human flesh body.  The Creator is Yahweh, who is an invisible Spirit that hides Himself behind a veil of flesh.  This is exactly what He did in the man Yahshua of Nazareth.   Now He is asking us to see past the His fleshly body [which has been changed into His spiritual body anyway] and believe that the Father was in Him, residing a brief time in that mortal flesh.  He walked among the special people of His creation.  Yahweh is the Word, and He was made flesh and dwelt among us.  And He has promised that all those who believe this word about Himself will do the same things that the Savior did.  And thousands of sons doing the same works that the Savior did will the “the greater works.”

3 Comments

Filed under belief, elect, glorification, princes and princesses of God, Sacred Names

3 responses to ““Greater Works” Comes by Believing Yahweh Dwelt Bodily in Christ

  1. Mary Ann

    Wayne……meat for the soul, I was hungry and you fed me……

    “Whoever believes me when I say that the Father is in me–that person will do what I have been doing.
    Is this so? If so, imagine the ramifications…….

    He who believes the Savior’s words that it was Yahweh Himself, the great Eternal Spirit Creator, who was dwelling in Him–that believer will do the same things that the Savior did! What an astounding promise!

    Why don’t we see this manifestation?

    • Hi, Mary Ann. Why don’t we see the same works being done? I really believe that it is a question of timing. It’s like a expectant mother-to-be. There is an appointed time for the delivery and she has to wait with patience for it. Though she rushes around and agonizes about it, and does all the right things to bring it on–she still must wait on her ministry. Remember the prophet Moses. He had to wait 40 years until the time for the miracles came. Same for the manifestation of the sons of God.

  2. Mary Ann

    Well, PRAISE GOD, I’m waiting! In the mean time, I’m saying, “How long must we wait LORD?” Patience is not one of my virtues, PRAY for me….lol.

Leave a Reply

