YAHWEH IS SAVIOR: THE ROAD TO IMMORTALITY CHAPTER 4 “And They Shall Say to Me, What is His Name?”

STEP TWO–KNOWLEDGE OF HIS NAME  [“The name of Yahweh is a strong tower; the righteous runneth into it and is safe.” Proverbs 18: 10]

 Chapter And They Shall Say to Me, What Is His Name? 

     The quest for immortality is really a search for the knowledge of who the Immortal One, the Creator, is.  And there can be no knowledge of who He is without knowing His true name. 

     Take Moses, for example.  The first thing that he was concerned about when called out by God to do a work was knowing God’s name.

     Moses had already fled Egypt and was shepherding a flock on Mt. Horeb in the Sinai.  It is here that God appears to him out of a burning bush.  Moses goes over to get a better look at the marvelous sight.  Then God calls Moses by name out of the burning bush.

     Moses is dumbfounded, of course.  God then tells him just who is speaking.  “I am the God of thy father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.”  And then He tells Moses that He has heard the cries of His people in Egypt, and that He has come down to deliver them out of bondage.  “Come now therefore, and I will send you unto Pharaoh, that you may bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.”

     And Moses said in essence, “Why me?  Who am I to do such a difficult task?”

     And God said, “Certainly I will be with you.”

          And Moses said to God, “If I come to the people of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?”  This is the foremost thing, the very first thing that Moses knows the children of Israel will ask him when he goes down to deliver them.  Moses knows that if he does not know God’s name, the people will not buy it.  They will know that something is wrong with this deliverer.  If you know God, Moses, you will surely know His name.  If you and God know each other so well that He would be sending you with power to overthrow Pharoah, then surely you are going to know His name (Ex. 3: 10-13).

     God then says to Moses, “I AM THAT I AM.”  And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”  God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘The LORD*…has sent me to you’: this is my name for ever, and thus I am to be remembered throughout all generations.” [*Footnote in the RSV, Exodus 3:15: “The word LORD when spelled with capital letters, stands for the divine name, YHWH, which is here connected with the verb hayah, to be.”] 

          With this information, we may now restore the divine name into that same passage: “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘YHWH has sent me to you: this is my name for ever.”  Stop.  God says that YHWH is his name forever.  “And thus I am to be remembered throughout all generations.”  With this God is saying that He is to be remembered by using the name of YHWH! The word “LORD” appears more than 6,800 times in the Hebrew canon, commonly known as the Old Testament. That means that the Creator’s name YHWH appears about 6,800 times! The prophets addressed Him by His name YHWH.  They remembered Him by using His name. The name YHWH was a memorial, the way to remember Him.

     Did Moses obey God and tell the children of Israel that “YHWH has sent me to you”?  The answer is yes.  And afterward Moses and Aaron went in, and told Pharaoh, Thus saith the LORD (YHWH) God of Israel, Let my people go, that they may hold a feast unto me in the wilderness. Ex. 5:1.  In fact, Moses penned down the name of YHWH 1,700 times in the first five books of the Scriptures.  And the divine name of YHWH appears in most translations as the title, “the LORD.” 

Leave a comment

Filed under Sacred Names, Yahweh

Leave a Reply

