Dust to Dust, Ashes to Ashes–A Eulogy

This solemn occasion, in which we gather to bury this loved one, brings the age old question to mind: How do we deal with death?  To be human is to have pondered this inevitable enigma.  The death of someone close to us hurls us into thoughts about our own mortality.  Death is that lonely part of the human journey, the ticket to that solitary ride into the mysterious cosmos and the life beyond.

Death, and how to deal with it, is one of the great themes of literature.  It is the constant concern that motivates thinkers, writers, and philosophers to dive into the depths of the human condition.

We want to know what follows this fragile earthly existence.  What really happens?  Not what this man says nor what that group claims, but what really transpires.  What is the truth concerning that first step beyond this dimension?

Being Christians, we will look to the bestseller of all time, the Holy Bible.  We will look to the ancient Hebrew patriarchs, prophets, apostles, and the Savior Himself for our answers.

What did they say about death?  Not what someone said they said, but what words did they actually write down to explain to us about this experience called death?  Moses reports to us that the LORD (Yahweh in the Hebrew) said to the fallen Adam, “In the sweat of thy face shall you eat bread, till you return unto the ground, for out of it were you taken.  For dust thou art, and unto dust shalt thou return” (Gen. 3: 19).  Later in Genesis, Abraham said, Look at me.  Here I am about to speak to Yahweh my Creator, and I am only “dust and ashes” (18: 27).  King David says to God, “You have brought me into the dust of death.”

And some say that that is all there is.  We are born; we walk around the earth for a moment in time; we laugh; we cry, and then we cease to be.  But according to the Hebrew authors of the Bible, that is only half of the story.

Yes, our bodies are composed of dust and ashes.  But another very special ingredient must be added.  Take the dust, mix it with water, and add the special spark of the spirit through the miracle of the Master’s touch, and you have the human being–what the apostle Paul called, “the glory of God.”

“There is a spirit in man…”

The prophet Job confirms this when he writes, “There is a spirit in man: and the inspiration of the Almighty gives man understanding” (32: 18).  Inside this miraculously fashioned body of dust lies a spirit given to us by our Creator through which He enlightens us.  Job goes on and says that God speaks to us “in a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls upon men, in slumberings upon the bed; then God opens the ears of men, and seals their instruction, that God may withdraw man” from his own purpose, and hide pride from man.”

God reaches out to us as we walk “through this valley of the shadow of death.”  Job later explains how our “soul draws near to the grave.”  Then God says to his messengers, “Deliver them from going down to the pit; I have found a ransom.”

God promises to restore us to our youth if we say to our Maker, “I have sinned, and perverted that which is right…then He will deliver us from going to the pit, and his life shall see the light” (Job 33: 15-28).

Hope in the Resurrection

Who will deliver us from the grave?  2,000 years before the Savior walked the streets of Jerusalem, Job wrote, “For I know that my Redeemer lives,  and that He shall stand at the latter day upon the earth,” and though my body be destroyed, “yet in my flesh shall I see God” (18: 25-26).

The prophet Daniel confirmed this hope of life after our earthly body passes away.  Michael the archangel told him that the resurrection will take place after the great “time of trouble” that will befall the earth in the latter days.  At that time your people shall be delivered, every one that shall be found written in the book.  And many of them that sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake, some to everlasting life, and some to shame and everlasting contempt” (12: 1-2).

So, there it is.  In these few passages, we see a resurrection that will lift us up out of the dust of our graves.   The resurrection is our only hope, and that hope hinges on our Redeemer and Savior.  Christ said, “I am the resurrection and the life.”
It is now left up to us the living to seek out and find our own way with our Maker.  It is a personal thing.  We all must find the path that leads out of the dust and ashes of death and be reconciled with God.  We can help each other, of course, but we cannot “walk that lonesome valley” for someone else.

And so, now, we commend Scott Kenneth Hancock’s spirit back to the Heavenly Father from whence it came, and in fulfillment of scripture, we place his dust and ashes back into the earth from whence it came.

May God’s grace and mercy help us all on our journey back to the heart of God.  Amen.

[Remembering my Dad with these words spoken over his grave ten years ago.]        Kenneth Wayne Hancock

6 Comments

Filed under death, end time prophecy, eternal life, glorification, hope, resurrection, Uncategorized, Yahweh

6 responses to “Dust to Dust, Ashes to Ashes–A Eulogy

  1. Hello Wayneman,
    Two questions:
    a. Did you know that 2 spaces after a sentence went out the window decades ago?
    http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/technology/2011/01/space_invaders.html
    b. Did you ever come to any conclusions or enlightenment on the previous subjects we discussed?
    https://immortalityroad.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/the-stone-kingdom-and-the-elect/
    Ken N.

    • Ken, I truly did not think you would appreciate the petulance of the writer of the slate.com article above. Talk about straining at a gnat and swallowing a camel. He is just a scribe, after all. Besides, pick up any book published recently; they all have justified right margins. Because of that, the spacing is tight at times and very loose at times–between sentences, as well as words. Re: your timeline of 70 years for the wrap up seems long to me. Of course, who knows for sure. In your list of things that have to happen before the kingdom is set up, there is one very huge thing that is missing. I believe it is the most important thing that God is doing in His plan–that short space of time where the manifested 100 fold fruit bearing immortal sons of God stride the earth preaching the kingdom of God, healing and raising the dead as Christ did. The council in heaven, I believe, are our spiritual bodies that look like us here on earth. And they shall swallow us up–“mortality swallowed up of life.” So, that is the enlightenment that we all should be “groaning and travailing in pain together” for that day, as the man of sin comes to full power for a short season. Groaning for our house from heaven, as Paul writes about in II Cor. kwh

      • elegan3

        Hello Wayneman,

        Actually, it is your “left justified” article that appeared to have 2 spaces after each sentence. Maybe it is just the way it looks on WordPress. I do a lot of reading and have not seen 2 spaces in anything published online or in any books in decades (even with full justification). But I have come across a few who still do it. I was just checking to see if you were aware of it (and I am still not sure by your answer).

        I have to say that I am rather disappointed in your rather scholastically lacking response to the end-time issue. It is as if you have “better” knowledge than all of the scholars who put that information together. You use the words “I believe” a lot, with no scriptures to back up your theories.

        It would appear that you have found nothing of value on the well researched websites of the ASSOCIATES ONLINE:

        http://ernestlmartin.com/

        which has 23 pages and over 17,000 links – or that of the ASSOCIATES FOR SCRIPTURAL KNOWLEGE,

        http://askelm.com/

        which offers a similar data base of articles by Dr. Ernest L. Martin, one of the world’s greatest bible scholars.

        All of this leads me to ask myself, “Will Wayneman be in the Kingdom of God?” Is this the kind of leadership God will need in the Kingdom of God to teach others?

        Ken N.

      • Ken, your articles are very informative and I have learned much from reading them. They are a vast trove of biblical information that I admittedly have not completely read. That notwithstanding, I would ask from you a response concerning the council of heaven question, whether they are our spiritual bodies that will engulf us. As for not backing up things I believe, you must not have read many of my articles, for I endeavor to give references to most of the points I am shown. As I said in another comment, my hesitance to agree with you on things is not a measure of my perceived heresy (in your eyes), but rather a reluctance to wait until I prove all things.

        Ken, and to question whether I am a child of God–don’t you think that is a bit too judgmental? I have shared with the world what He has given me. Nothing more, nothing less–from the death of self portrayed in Romans 6, how we go through the death, burial and resurrection on down through the vision that shines through the parables of the mysteries of his kingdom. I, like you and your fellow scholars, “see through a glass darkly,” yet we are admonished by Christ to “feed My sheep.” I endeavor to do that; that is all.

        I apologize for the curtness of my last comment; that was uncalled for. But that does not banish me from His kingdom. For we have it within us as much as us in it. God bless you richly, Ken. KWHancock

      • elegan3

        Hello Wayneman,

        Thank you for your reply. I’m glad to hear that you are reading and finding articles of interest on our sites. We certainly don’t claim to have all truth and understanding, but I do believe we have a rather significant amount of material worthy of review.

        Concerning your question on the “council of heaven”, I see no evidence that they are our spiritual bodies that will engulf us. That being said, I am certainly no expert on the matter and would refer you to the author of that article.

        I am certainly not passing judgement on you or anyone else. We will all be judged by God for KOG inclusion, not our fellow man (thankfully). What I stress in my article on the KOG:

        http://ernestlmartin.com/kingdomofgod-firstresurrection.htm

        is that the one quality that we will be judged on is our “attitude” (since it was the attitude displayed by King David, the Apostles and martyrs that has qualified them for the KOG). It is not how much correct doctrine we might have attained in this lifetime, but rather the manner (or, attitude) in which we approach the Bible (or, biblical knowledge), our relationship with God – and our relationship with fellow brothers in Christ.

        While I am certainly not in a position to observe the first two items in anyone’s life, I am in a position to observe the latter (especially if it is online).

        I could be completely wrong, but it appears to me that you are not really reaching out to your fellow brothers in Christ (via the Internet). You seem to position yourself as an authority on the KOG – and indeed you have many fine articles and are one of the very few that have an understanding on the KOG and actually preach the KOG. That is fine and good.

        But, considering that there are very few Christians that share that understanding, I find your attitude towards those few who try and reach out to you to be a little disappointing. Hence, my comments about KOG inclusion. If we can’t even communicate properly among ourselves in this lifetime (because of our attitude), then just what qualification do we have to gain admittance into the KOG?

        Will we perpetuate the same behavior in the KOG that we do now? Remember, Jesus said that “few” will be selected and that there would be “gnashing of teeth” (presumably among those who “thought” they would be accepted – and weren’t.) This also applies to those very few of us who preach the gospel of the KOG, too.

        Communications (“feeding the sheep”) is a “two way street”. I see this problem in many leaders on many subjects (like health, history, politics, etc.) Once they establish themselves as a “leader”, they make it difficult for their audience to provide any meaningful feedback. And when feedback is provided, it is almost always met with silence (or, by a courteous, “I’ll get back to you” – which rarely happens). This is not how we (leaders) should be learning (new truth) – or behaving. The reader (follower) then feels his input is not worthy of a reply or consideration. They, in turn, become “turned off” and drift away. This is what I see happening on your blog.

        I initially came upon your blog through a generic Google search. I recently tried to duplicate that search by searching with KOG and first resurrection words. I failed to find it at all this time. I’m guessing you have a small readership, unless there is some other conduit I am unaware of.

        That is my 2 cents commentary on the subject. I wish you well in your endeavors.

        Ken N.

      • Thank you, Ken, for your reply. You said, “You seem to position yourself as an authority on the kingdom of God.” Your statement implies intent. It has never been my intent to fashion myself as an authority on the gospel. I have merely found a vehicle that I may share what the Spirit reveals to me. That is all. No following, no flock, no pastorship, no buildings, no walls. I would hope that all of us who use this medium of the www would not interpret negatively a reluctance to receive new doctrinal teachings. It takes time to “prove all things.”

        He said to be “instant in season and out of season” and perform the work of an evangelist, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom of God. We all should do this; I know you agree. Of course, Ken, you may believe what you will about this vessel; our works, if shoddy, will be consumed in God’s fire. All I can do is sincerely endeavor to explain, using the talents that He has given me, the things concerning His kingdom. This is the attitude of this new heart He has given to me. The beast I was 40 years ago you would not recognize, for he was a soldier who cursed worse than a sailor, an inveterate whoremonger and drug addict playing with a band called “Shagnasty,” who was one of the ones chosen by God to shine His mercy upon and give me grace. Those who have been forgiven much will love much. I love Him because He first loved me, and so I want to share the things that have helped in my conversion. I realize that I share imperfectly, but hopefully, those who read my writings would see past my infirmities and look on the information after the Spirit.

        Thank you for bringing all this to my attention. Humans are always the last to know.

        Sincerely in Christ,

        Kenneth Wayne Hancock

Leave a Reply

