The Cross, Repentance from Sin, and the New Birth

You are a Christian. You want to win souls to Christ. But what is the exact message that you need to deliver? Christ is our example. What did He say to them?

Christ did not mince words. The first words out of His mouth were these: “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.” Abrupt, perhaps. Straight to the point. Yet that short message is packed with meaning. He is saying, You must repent of your sins because God’s kingdom is right here, right now, waiting for you to enter. But you must make a spiritual entrance. If you do not change your old ways, you will miss this opportunity to be with Me in My kingdom, for I am its King.

The Spirit of Christ in the apostle John continues explaining what He is talking about. Unless you are born from above—born again—you cannot see nor enter the spiritual kingdom of God. This is being born of the Spirit. Except a man be born again [born from above], he cannot see the kingdom of God…Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. John 3: 3-5.

Everybody has heard that, but few know what it means. In order to be born of the Spirit, thereby guaranteeing your entrance into His kingdom, there must be a dying of the old seed within us. And that old seed is the old heart, the old Adamic sinful nature. “Except a grain of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abides alone. But if it die, it brings forth much fruit” (John 12: 24).

Our old sin nature is like a bad seed that keeps producing sinful actions. And there is only one way to rid ourselves of it, and that is to surrender it to the death of the cross with Christ. That will bring the change of heart when we believe that He plants a new righteous seed in our hearts. This new seed germinates by faith in His resurrection. It sprouts forth love, joy, and peace. This is the born again experience. It comes out of repentance from sin. When a man gets this right, then he will have seen and entered the kingdom of God.

The Cross Experience

Many preachers speak about Christ suffering and dying on the cross for us. They say that He was our substitute; they say to just believe in His death and resurrection and you are saved. Many speak of this, but few explain what God requires of us concerning the cross. Just acknowledging Christ’s death is not enough to get rid of the old sinful nature. The old nature that we are born with has to die, or it will keep sprouting up. That’s why so many people back slide into sin. They back slide because their old sin nature is still there.

What the preachers fail to realize is that when Christ died on the cross, mankind’s old sinful nature died with Him. We are to examine ourselves. God is now asking, Has your old sin nature died on the cross with Christ? As professing Christians, have you laid down willingly your old sinful life, letting it die with Christ? Or have you just felt sorry for your sinful ways and “walked the aisle” like they encouraged you to do? Most mistake this experience as being “born again.” It is good to feel sorrow for the sinful way we have lived. “Godly sorrow leads us to repentance.” However, it is not repentance from sin (II Cor. 7: 10).

To the Cross

Godly sorrow leads you to the cross, the spiritual place of your repentance, which is the first of the apostles’ doctrine. Next, you must realize that Christ took upon Himself the sins of all mankind, and He died as a lost man. For He has made Him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him. II Cor. 5: 21.

When Christ died on the cross, the sin of all mankind died with Him. In God’s eyes, everyone’s  old sinful self died when He died. He could take all the sins of the whole world on Himself because He is the only man in history who was perfect–a perfectly sinless human being. He was the only One pure enough to be the sacrificial “Lamb of God that takes away the sin of the world” (John 1: 29). He was the only One pure enough to wash away your sin and mine.

This is how the shedding of His blood cleanses us of all sin. The life is in the blood. When Christ bled out on the cross, the life of sin, the strength of sin, the force of sin died. That is the power of the blood of Christ—because sin’s life force, sin’s blood, drained out, leaving sin lifeless within us. God just requires us to believe it, to believe His word about it. It is through belief that we become new creatures whose life force is restored by the power of His resurrection.

Our old nature died with Him on the cross. It is a spiritual death, not a physical one. Our old selves are already dead in God’s eyes. Why would any one knowing this continue to go on sinning? “Light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.” And they won’t come to the light lest their “deeds should be discovered” (John 3: 19-20).

But I Am Baptized

Yet, some believe that after they are baptized in water, somehow mystically they are okay. But baptism is an outward symbol of a spiritual event called the cross experience. Do you not know that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into His death? We are buried with Him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin. For he that is dead is freed from sin. Romans 6: 3-6.

Our sin nature died on the cross. We are free! Free from the guilt, the shame, the mental torture, the indignity, the pain, and the fear. Free!

Sin is the breaking of the Ten Commandments, and it is the written record of what the old sinful nature can and will do (I John 3: 4). Sinning is the old nature still manifesting itself through actions that break the law. “And we know that He was manifested to take away our sins; and in Him is no sin” (I John 3: 5). By dying with Him, we are freed from the bondage of sinning!

Free! Free from sin and sinning! Free now to grow spiritually to the point where we will bear much fruit like Peter, James, John and Paul. Free! Are you kidding me? Believe this truth in Christ, and you’ll be walking in a new life, freed from sin, for He has given us a new heart (Ezek. 18: 31).

This is true repentance. This is being born again of His incorruptible seed, the word of God (I Peter 1: 23). By faith we have to reckon our old self dead and gone with Christ on the cross, and also reckon ourselves alive unto God by faith in Christ’s resurrection. He said it; we believe it, and now we walk in its light. He gave His word on this. He is way ahead of us. He already sees us as righteous before Him. He is just waiting on His elect to believe His word, to believe like He believes. He with great patience waits for His chosen ones to awake unto righteousness, thus fulfilling His purpose of reproducing Himself.

This freedom from sin and sinning is the fruit of repentance wrought at the cross. It is the key to being born again and entering into His kingdom. This is why, to win souls, Christ spoke these words: “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”      Kenneth Wayne Hancock

{If this article helped you, hit the “like” button. Comment, share if the Spirit moves you. And be sure to send for my book The Apostles’ Doctrine. It is free with free shipping. Just send your name, mailing address, and the name of the book you desire to my email: wayneman5@hotmail.com }

23 Comments

Filed under baptism, cross, crucified with Christ

23 responses to “The Cross, Repentance from Sin, and the New Birth

  1. This has to be the most detailed explaination of what we are to do to truly know we are in Christ, and not have one foot on the narrow path and the other on the wide one as so many are comfortable with. Our Father has truly spoken through His servant on this. 🙂

    Blessings Always over you and Linda.
    Julia

    • Thank you for your precious comment. [Check out my reply to Shulamitefire. It has more along these lines]

      Thank you for your encouraging words. The cross is the focal point, the place where He changes people. It is the place where His body begins. We suffer the loss of all things at the cross. It is a powerful concept. Thanks again. Bless you. kwh

      • I too believe if one is truly born from above it is the spirit itself that has the ability to keep one from sinning. I cringe when I hear someone say I’m just a sinner saved by grace NOOOOOOO. 1 John 3:9 clears up any confusion that we can or do continue to sin once we are born into the body of Christ and are born of God.

        Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot sin, because he is born of God.

        Stay the course in Yah who is our life.
        Julia

      • Amen! When we believe that it is “no longer I that lives, but Christ who lives in me”–when we get that into our hearts, then we realize that we live by His faith. But it all is only seen if the Father gives us the eyes to see…It is all Him. kwh

      • Amen and Amen! All Him!! We are dead to the world and alive in Christ……………..Praise YAH.

        Be Blessed Always
        Julia

      • Thank you for your comment. Praise Yah!

      • Julia, your dedication to Christ and His work is an inspiration to me. May our great King shower on your family peace and love. kwh

      • All Glory to the one who alone is our Life. May Yah continue to Bless and keep you Always in His care.
        Julia

      • Thank you. Your walk keeps me going. That is part of the power of His body, edifying each other. “But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost…” (Jude 1:20). kwh

      • Your writings inspire me as well Dear Brother. The joy of the Lord is our strength!
        Julia

      • Thank you for walking on with Him. The Spirit of truth has some special revelations coming soon. You know how few people ever dig deep into the gospel of John, except John 3:16. The Spirit in John wrote down many keys that will unlock for us the mysteries of the kingdom and how to have Him abide in us, dwell in us and not leave. The Spirit is leading me into the contents of the new book, THE ABIDING…He wants to reveal His secrets, and He is doing just that. Pray with me that Christ would continue to reveal more of His secret truths to us…God bless you and Charles. kwh

      • How wonderful to hear the spirit is unlocking more mysteries as only He can do. When we are sensitive to the moving of His spirit the revelations are awe inspiring! We have a fire that burns within us and cannot rest until we give the message that is within our heart’s. I pray Ken the message that will be revealed to you will be life changing for many!
        Thank you for the Blessing for I and Charles. May Yah continue to speak through you, for lives are being touched like never before.
        Be Blessed in Him.
        Julia
        (1 John 2:27)

      • Thank you for those kind words. I wrestled and labored with the essay that I today published concerning the spiritual food Christ was eating. There are three more essays to it. It is a revealing of one of His secrets that most will not get at their first try. The other words are “will,” “sent,” and “work.” This exploration in search of truth is like hunting diamonds and rubies, which are meager metaphors of the value of Him and His glory…But the Spirit wants us to claw and scrape deep into the caverns of His care and love. He loves us so much and desires to have us co-heirs with Christ. He wants to share His love and power with us!
        Anyway…May He “give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.” Thanks for your thoughts. kwh

      • It is so nice to hear these words from someone else. Very encouraging your words, as always.

  2. Willie Torres Jr.

    Amen 🙏🤗

    We all can enjoy “Forgiveness” because Jesus suffered the punishment we deserved. Our sins condemned us. They separated us from God and killed us Spiritually. When Jesus gave His life on the cross, He took our place. Now the Father gives to us the gift of His Son’s own purity and goodness, Amen .

    • Thank you, my brother, for the comment. [See the reply I made to Shulamitefire. It has a lot to say about the cross] I appreciate you. Would you sometime, as the Spirit leads you, give your testimony in a comment? For our precious Savior’s sake, kwh

  3. Thank you for this teaching set forth in The Cross, Repentance from Sin, and the New Birth.

    Who can intimately identify with the struggle of the two natures explicitly described in Romans 7? I know that I can, and that uncomfortably much more than a little. As Paul wrote Romans 7 in the first person singular present tense, is he in actuality referring to himself? If not, is he including or excluding persons born again as per Jesus at John 3:3?

    Romans 7:14-25 AMP
    14 We know that the Law is spiritual, but I am a creature of the flesh [worldly, self-reliant—carnal and unspiritual], sold into slavery to sin [and serving under its control]. 15 For I do not understand my own actions [I am baffled and bewildered by them]. I do not practice what I want to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate [and yielding to my human nature, my worldliness—my sinful capacity]. 16 Now if I habitually do what I do not want to do, [that means] I agree with the Law, confessing that it is good (morally excellent). 17 So now [if that is the case, then] it is no longer I who do it [the disobedient thing which I despise], but the sin [nature] which lives in me. 18 For I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my flesh [my human nature, my worldliness—my sinful capacity]. For the willingness [to do good] is present in me, but the doing of good is not. 19 For the good that I want to do, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. 20 But if I am doing the very thing I do not want to do, I am no longer the one doing it [that is, it is not me that acts], but the sin [nature] which lives in me.

    21 So I find it to be the law [of my inner self], that evil is present in me, the one who wants to do good. 22 For I joyfully delight in the law of God in my inner self [with my new nature], 23 but I see a different law and rule of action in the members of my body [in its appetites and desires], waging war against the law of my mind and subduing me and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is within my members. 24 Wretched and miserable man that I am! Who will [rescue me and] set me free from this body of death [this corrupt, mortal existence]? 25 Thanks be to God [for my deliverance] through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand, I myself with my mind serve the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh [my human nature, my worldliness, my sinful capacity—I serve] the law of sin.

    • Many believe that the apostle Paul remained a sinner all his life. Careful: “Woe unto them that call evil good, and good evil” (Isa. 5:20).
      In Romans 7, Paul is describing the plight of a lost man–a man who has not gone to the cross, been buried with Christ, and been resurrected with Him, as seen in Romans 6:1-12.
      Romans 7 is presented to us by Paul as a flashback. It shows the utter frustration in being separated from God in our first sinful state.
      The key is Romans 7: 5, which introduces the flashback. “For when we were in the flesh, the motions of sins, which were by the law, did work in our members to bring forth fruit unto death.” I consulted twenty different versions; all kept the timeframe in the past.
      The flashback is a literary device that shows someone in a prior state. It elucidates the immediacy of that prior state for all to behold. “When we were in the flesh.” It means this: What Paul describes in Romans 7:5-25 is a description of his state when he was a sinner. He is saying, This is what I used to be in the past. I was “carnal, sold under sin…” These verses show starkly what our sinful lives were prior to the cross.
      False doctrine has taken away the context and has led many millions into error by saying that born-from-above Christians still sin and will sin until the day that they die. That sadly is what has been taught to us since childhood.
      To prove the above, I offer these scriptures: “They that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its affections and lust” (Gal. 5:24). “Have crucified” is present perfect tense. The sinful old heart has died with Christ; the action is complete in the present. And, “He that is dead is freed from sin” (Rom. 6:7). Sin has no more hold over us (Rom. 6:14; 1 John 3:9).
      The key that opens this door of understanding is believing Romans 7: 5. “When we were in the flesh.” KWH

    • I love you and appreciate your dedication in your endeavors to spread Christ’s gospel. However, I have noticed that you do not address the scriptural references I make to defend my position. I do not intend to enter an argument on doctrine. Argumentation puts us into an arena, and as you know “we wrestle not against flesh and blood.” Christ does not want us to argue.

      This all speaks of Paul and us all “when we WERE in the flesh” (Rom. 7:5). Why did you not address that verse? Or this one: “I am crucified with Christ…” Or this one in I John 3:9: “Whosoever is born of God does not commit sin, for His seed remains in him and he cannot sin because he is born of God.” I showed you scriptures on several topics that prove to my satisfaction that I am on the right path, but you do not touch these verses. Why is that, Shulamitefire? You only want to eloquently defend your doctrines, leaving out the scriptures that I offer.

      You want an open forum to share and debate your beliefs. Immortality Road is not an open forum. It is more of a library with books and articles for the public concerning the doctrines of Christ that I teach…You should not be frustrated with me. I have developed this blog faithfully for over 16 years. I have a loyal readership that believes this way as I do. I have not forbidden you from teaching about Christ. “Forbid them not,” Christ told His disciples. In fact, I have encouraged you to establish your own blog. Teach the world you views.

      But I must draw the line when someone wants to use this blog to undermine this very blog. I respect the lambs and sheep that I feed with truth too much to let them feed on what I perceive to be harmful spiritual food. I speak this about your eloquent defense of the trinity. He is the Holy One of Israel. The godhead is a great mystery. And only the Father can reveal it to someone. Nothing personal, but I do not want to allow what I see as a false teaching to be seen on this blog. I have that right as the gatekeeper of this speck of the internet.

      I do respect your right to express what you see in our Savior and His plan. Both of us will never be swayed by the other, so why waste our time. Let us commit it to Him that judges righteously, and let us walk on in Him and He in us. I think we both can agree that we are living in or near the “time of the end.” Let us not argue. It does not cultivate agape.

      On your latest comment on Romans 7:5, you endeavored to prove me a sinner. That was the very theme of the book of Job. His “friends” spent the whole book trying to prove that Job’s sin is what brought on the calamities in his life. Not so. “In all this Job sinned not” (Job 1:22). The righteous do suffer like Job. His “friends” were dead wrong, and so are the thousands of pastors who teach the opposite.

      Finally, you want me to change my blog into an open forum. Address the rich amount of scripture verses that my writings reference first, and then we can talk about it. I still think it better if you write for your own blog.

      Sincerely and peacefully I write, Kenneth Wayne Hancock

  4. Pingback: The Cross, Repentance from Sin, and the New Birth | Precious Sheep Of Renown

  5. james gordon

    Good reminder of continued repentance and acceptance.

Leave a comment